Scoring Central
I'm studying ancient history again, here's some funny stuffff - Printable Version

+- Scoring Central (http://scoringcentral.mattiaswestlund.net)
+-- Forum: Miscellaneous (http://scoringcentral.mattiaswestlund.net/forumdisplay.php?fid=20)
+--- Forum: Off-topic (http://scoringcentral.mattiaswestlund.net/forumdisplay.php?fid=21)
+--- Thread: I'm studying ancient history again, here's some funny stuffff (/showthread.php?tid=538)

Pages: 1 2 3

I'm studying ancient history again, here's some funny stuffff - bigcat1969 - 01-30-2019

When Europeans started exploring North Africa near the Mediterranean coast, they found many massive stone structures.There two tall stone columns pointed skyward with a short stone connecting the two on top. This reminded them of Stonehenge. Some of these structures were close together and all had a flat stone at the base with grooves. This led to several highly successful books about ancient heathen cults that featured human sacrifice since the flat stones with grooves were manifestly for the blood of the victims to be carried away. Someone finally asked a Mediterranean farmer about these Stonehenge like cult objects and he said, "Oh you mean the old Roman olive presses?"

The very first written documents were tax records. This makes sense when you consider that early towns were basically leeches on the food supply of farmers. Taxes would have had to proceed governments. To the early farmers tax collectors and bandits would have been synonymous. This explains why the first ever written recipe was how to make beer.