Scoring Central
So... what instruments do you play? - Printable Version

+- Scoring Central (http://scoringcentral.mattiaswestlund.net)
+-- Forum: Music (http://scoringcentral.mattiaswestlund.net/forumdisplay.php?fid=1)
+--- Forum: Musical Instruments (http://scoringcentral.mattiaswestlund.net/forumdisplay.php?fid=11)
+--- Thread: So... what instruments do you play? (/showthread.php?tid=34)

Pages: 1 2

So... what instruments do you play? - Mattias Westlund - 05-23-2016

A subforum about playing real instruments with 0 threads looks kind of bad on a VO forum, so let's do this to start things off Smile

I'm a reasonably proficient rock/metal/prog guitar player. I can fake it on a bass guitar and I have some idea of how to play a mandolin. Keys is not my forte, I use keyboards for entering midi notes but I'm not a pianist and never will be.

I started playing whistles in 2008, and have dabbled with keyless flute as well, but I do this far too seldom to be more than a complete noob even after all these years.

On good days I like to think that I can pull off a passable vocal or small percussion performance.

So... what's your story?

RE: So... what instruments do you play? - Otto Halmén - 05-23-2016

My main instrument is the cello. Took lessons for years as a kid. Haven't played much lately, though, as the neck joint came off and I haven't yet taken it to a luthier to have it re-glued. Gotta get it fixed, it was a Frankenstein's monster repaired a hundred times over and it had a slightly peculiar but lovely tone.

Then there's a bunch of instruments that I know some basic stuff on. I know a few (mostly metal) songs on guitar, I can keep up on bass, I can play a couple different beats on drums, etc. I know some very simple harmonica, jaw harp and ocarina. Currently practicing keyboards, something I regret not properly starting earlier since it's the most useful instrument to know for computer music.

RE: So... what instruments do you play? - Paul Battersby - 05-29-2016