Scoring Central
Metal and Orchestra - Printable Version

+- Scoring Central (http://scoringcentral.mattiaswestlund.net)
+-- Forum: Music (http://scoringcentral.mattiaswestlund.net/forumdisplay.php?fid=1)
+--- Forum: User Music (http://scoringcentral.mattiaswestlund.net/forumdisplay.php?fid=12)
+--- Thread: Metal and Orchestra (/showthread.php?tid=527)

Pages: 1 2

Metal and Orchestra - Viktor - 12-28-2018

Hey folks!
Long time no see, I was kind of on an orchestral hiatus and did some other stuff, but now I'm slowly returning there to try out some ideas. I'm doing some games ost for some friends right now and I decided to combine some parts of a metal band with some orchestration, this is just a small hint of whats about to come. https://instaud.io/36rh

I'm relatively new to playing this style so all criticism regarding mixing, composing and so far are appreciated, especially regarding the guitar tone. Also, do you have any references for this kind of style, that is in standard tuning? I tried to get some mixing references, but it was all with vocals and down tuned a lot, which made it super hard to draw comparisons.

RE: Metal and Orchestra - Nayrb - 12-28-2018

Cool track! I like the synth bits. Reminds me a little of Devin Townsend. I can only listen on my phone at the moment, so I'll reserve comments on tone for later. As for references in standard tuning, I'm not sure. The first Angra album, Angels Cry, is in standard, I think. Mostly upper register orchestra there, though, I believe. I think Rhapsody of Fire is / was in standard but I haven't listened to them in probably ten years. If you're not opposed to downtuning just a little I believe guitars on Turisas' the Varangian Way are no lower than a step down.

I am certain guitars are in D on Wilderun's stuff. D isn't all that far off from standard in comparison to most bands these days, and Wilderun is very heavy on the orchestra. Not sure about examples sans vocals, though. I'll have to think about that one.