Scoring Central

Full Version: VSCO2 and free orchestra samples
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18
(01-10-2017, 05:38 PM)bigcat1969 Wrote: [ -> ]I feel like an amateur musician  who hangs out with the pros on this forum and VI and occasionally someone gives me the equipment for a new trick which I clumsily attempt or a refinement on an old trick which I never thought of. Houdini I ain't.

Trust me when I say it- I kinda think everyone feels this way to some extent, particularly yours truly, haha. Mattias will drop in with a pearl of wisdom and I'll go "Ohhh, thaaats how that used to work!"
(01-11-2017, 09:55 PM)Samulis Wrote: [ -> ]Trust me when I say it- I kinda think everyone feels this way to some extent, particularly yours truly, haha. Mattias will drop in with a pearl of wisdom and I'll go "Ohhh, thaaats how that used to work!"

I'm the first one to admit that my knowledge of this craft has big gaping holes in it, so I like to  think we tend to complement each other. And by "we" I mean everyone on this forum.

Anyway, technical question regarding VSCO 2 CE: can the velocity designations (v1, v2, v3 etc) safely be used for batch-normalizing the samples to a range of dB levels? Or are they strictly patch-dependant i.e. v1 might mean "super soft" and v2 "tinnitus-inducing" on some instruments?

And yes, Samulis, I know you didn't normalize them for a reason. But in some samplers (like TX16Wx) you can't just add a 20dB boost to something like you can in sfz. Wink
(01-11-2017, 10:44 PM)Mattias Westlund Wrote: [ -> ]
(01-11-2017, 09:55 PM)Samulis Wrote: [ -> ]Trust me when I say it- I kinda think everyone feels this way to some extent, particularly yours truly, haha. Mattias will drop in with a pearl of wisdom and I'll go "Ohhh, thaaats how that used to work!"

I'm the first one to admit that my knowledge of this craft has big gaping holes in it, so I like to  think we tend to complement each other. And by "we" I mean everyone on this forum.

Anyway, technical question regarding VSCO 2 CE: can the velocity designations (v1, v2, v3 etc) safely be used for batch-normalizing the samples to a range of dB levels? Or are they strictly patch-dependant i.e. v1 might mean "super soft" and v2 "tinnitus-inducing" on some instruments?

And yes, Samulis, I know you didn't normalize them for a reason. But in some samplers (like TX16Wx) you can't just add a 20dB boost to something like you can in sfz. Wink

I definitely agree with the sentiment- I always learn something new here. For example, Otto is working on actually programming reverb effects- that's awesome and I am totally going to keep an eye on that.

Yeah, the velocity designations differ per-instrument. Obviously some instruments (e.g. brass) have a greater dynamic range than others (e.g. flutes), and obviously certain instruments (e.g. violas) are much quieter than others (e.g. trombones). As such, we sampled some instruments with many many velocity layers (for example, one of the snare drums has like 8), and others with hardly any. 

Unfortunately you couldn't just pull a magic dB normalization number out, but in general, if you take a peek at the existing dynamic range you have, you might be able to figure out some normalization values that work OK per-instrument. I tend to use Audition's "Perceived Loudness" option for normalization as it tends to sound a bit more realistic- if you want me to process anything for you with that, let me know.

But wait, it gets even worse: virtually all instruments naturally change volume dramatically across their register, especially woodwinds and brass (sometimes even between two adjacent notes). If you normalize it flat across the range, you'll end up with unnaturally loud or quiet high or low ends (such as is the case on the VS Upright No. 1, which is normalized).

Generally as a rule of thumb for making lower dynamics louder, I automatically add 8-18 dB to the lower dynamic in SFZ and adjust to taste- no normalization, just a general increase. That might be helpful, depending on your velocity curve settings. Remember with VSCO 2 CE, I cut out the middle velocity often, so some extra tweaking or increases may be necessary. It's really hard to decide what to cut, but it was either that or make the instruments even less detailed, and I wasn't about to go to providing samples in tritones only.
OK, thanks for clearing that up Sam. I actually figured as much as I've had, shall we say, limited success with normalizing VSCO 2 samples directly from within TX16Wx. I hoped it might be possible to batch-normalize everything to a few different dB levels but I see now that it's going to take a bit more work.
Everybody Wrote:Sentiments

It sure is nicer (and possibly even healthier) to not just make music all by yourself, isn't it? Smile
Some of us have no choice. With few exceptions I can barely tolerate humans especially as I have to go outdoors into the sensory overload of the city to see them. Here I can communicate from my little cave high in a castle and think of everyone as nice AIs with more or less human programming, though Otto is perilously close to human and frightens me slightly.  Confused
Now that I've driven a stake through the heart of this thread let me try to revive it with a question.

Does anyone else have trouble with the ADSR controls on groups other than the first one in Maize? They always seem to work for the first articulation but after that it gets spotty. Sometimes they do and sometimes they don't and I can figure out a reason.
(01-12-2017, 06:32 PM)bigcat1969 Wrote: [ -> ]Now that I've driven a stake through the heart of this thread let me try to revive it with a question.

Does anyone else have trouble with the ADSR controls on groups other than the first one in Maize? They always seem to work for the first articulation but after that it gets spotty. Sometimes they do and sometimes they don't and I can figure out a reason.

On the UI's?

It's because they have to be set up so they apply to all layers/articulations. When you select a function, e.g. Attack, it will have you specify where to apply it to. You have to check all the layers and confirm. The new UI *should* have up to the first six or so automatically selected.

The second dropdown unfortunately only appears if you select another function, then re select the original function.
Well good news, the string VSTis I believe are all updated using the suggestions on the previous page. Barring any errors I can move along to the brass and hopefully get them right the first time.
I got a little write up on Outro blog and they mention the VSCO2 community and Sam with links.
http://blog.outro.io/blog/2017/1/13/free...nstruments
Pages: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18